Skip to main content
HomeHHS & Family Associations

Historic Huguenot Street & Family Associations


In 1894, descendants of the founding families of Huguenot Street in New Paltz organized the Huguenot Patriotic, Historical, and Monumental Society to preserve the French and Dutch Huguenot history on the street. The Society purchased the Jean Hasbrouck House for use as a museum. Fifty years later, Kenneth Hasbrouck Sr. envisioned the seven stone houses still standing on the Huguenot Street to be part of a larger colonial museum experience.


Family Associations were organized in the 1950's and 1960's with the impetus to raise funds in order to purchase the family house. Continuing to raise money for the house's restoration and maintenance was the second goal. Each family association engaged in extensive genealogical research.


Each family association understands the special historical context provided by their family home being part of the unique setting that is Huguenot Street.

logo_color.png

Historic Huguenot Street

Mission: To preserve a unique Hudson Valley Huguenot settlement and engage diverse audiences in the exploration of America’s multicultural past in order to understand the historical forces that have shaped America.

Organized in 1894, the Society purchased the Jean Hasbrouck ouse in the early 1900's, naming it the Museum House. In the 1950's and 1960's additional houses were purchased to add to the historical museum street.


The ten-acre National Historic Landmark District includes seven historic stone houses, a reconstructed stone church, original burying ground, and a replica Esopus Munsee wigwam spanning over three hundred years of
history.

 

Website: https://www.huguenotstreet.org/

Wigwam1.jpg

Abe_House.jpg

Hasbrouck Family Association


Jean Hasbrouck (patentee) m. Anna Deyo

Abraham Hasbrouck (patentee) m. Maria Deyo


Jean Hasbrouck House - 1721

Abraham Hasbrouck House - 1721, 1728, 1734-1740


HFA organized in 1957. HFA incorporated as a 501(c)(3) in 1998.



JeanHasbrouckHouse.jpg

Bevier_House.jpg

Bevier Family Association


Louis Bevier (patentee) m. Marie LeBlanc


Bevier-Elting House built between 1694 and 1696.

bevier-crest.jpeg

crispell-crest.jpeg

Crispell Family Association


Antoine Crispell (patentee) m. Maria Blanchard settled in Hurley, near Kingston.

Though a patentee, Crispells did not move to New Paltz.


Replica 1717 Stone Church was built in 1972, funded by the Crispell Family.


Family Association organized in 1972.


Website: https://www.crispell.org/

Crispell_Walloon_Churc.jpg

Deyo_House.jpg

Deyo Family Association

Christian Deyo (patentee)

Pierre Deyo (patentee)


Deyo House (1692) is the oldest stone house on the street. Significantly modified in the late 1800’s by Abraham Deyo Brodhead, a descendent, the original stone structure is somewhat hidden in the Victorian structure.


Deyo Family Association founded in 1964.

Website: https://www.thedeyofamily.org/

deyo-crest.jpeg

dubois-crest.jpeg

DuBois Family Association


Louis DuBois (patentee) m Catherine Blanchan

Abraham DuBois (patentee)

Isaac DuBois (patentee)


The DuBois House, known as The Fort, was required by Gov. Edmund Andros ‘for a place of Retreat and Safeguard’, built in 1705, with 1830’s evolution to the two-story structure with garret and porches.


The DuBois Family Association was founded in 1966. The 
association incorporated as a 501(c)(3) in 1998.

Website: https://dbfa.clubexpress.com/

DuBois_House.jpg

The Elting Family can make claims to the 1798 House, with Ezekiel the first owner, and the Bevier-Elting House, having purchased it in 1760.

Elting Family Association


The Elting's were not a patentee family, but had a long history on Huguenot Street.


Jan Elting came to Long Island, then relocated to Hurley. His son, Roelif moved to New Paltz, married Sarah, daughter of patentee Abraham DuBois.


Roelif’s son Josiah purchased the Bevier House. Descendents built the ‘1799 House”, now known as the LeFevre House.

elting-crest.jpeg

freer-crest.jpeg

Freer Family Association


Hugo Freer (patentee) m. Marie de la Haye


The Freer House was built in 1762-63 by Hugo's granddaughter Rebecca and her husband Joannes M. Louw. Built in two phases – the northern section was constructed in 1762, followed by the southern section the following year.


Freer Family Association was organized in 1955.

Freer_House.jpg

Gerow_Schoolhouse_Plattekill.jpeg

Gerow Family Association


Not a patentee family, the Daniel Giraud family settled in New Rochelle, with grandson Daniel moving to Plattekill, near New Paltz, after 1781. 


The Gerow Family Association was founded in 1955. In 1967, GFA met with Huguenot Historical Society and voted to join HHS.


The Gerow Schoolhouse served Plattekill for many years, until it joined the Wallkill School District.

gerow-crest.jpeg
lefevre-crest.jpeg

LeFevre Family Association


Simon LeFevre (patentee)

Andreis LeFevre (patentee)


The1799 House, built by Ezekiel Elting, was purchased by the LeFevre Family Association in 1968.


The LeFevre Family Association was established in 1967.

LeFevre_House.jpg